The Lions Eye Institute congratulates Professor Graham Barrett AM


Congratulations Professor Graham Barratt AM

The Lions Eye Institute is delighted to note the awarding of a Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia to Professor Graham Barrett AM, MBBch, FRANZCO.

Professor Barrett has been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday 2022 Honours List for his significant service to ophthalmology, and to professional organisations.

He is a leading clinician at the Lions Eye Institute, a consultant ophthalmic surgeon at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital and a Clinical professor at The University of Western Australia’s Centre for Ophthalmology and Visual Science.

Since his ophthalmic training in Western Australia and specialty training in the United States, Professor Barrett has made a major contribution to vision research and ophthalmology practice in Australia and internationally. He is both a vastly experienced surgeon and a pioneer of intraocular lens design, calculation and assessment.

He devised instruments for all cataract surgery and phacoemulsification equipment and intraocular implants, including the Barrett Toric Calculator. The Barrett Universal II Formula is considered to be one of the most accurate intraocular lens power calculation formulas. It is globally recognised and used to improve the refractive accuracy outcomes of cataract surgery.

The Managing Director of the Lions Eye Institute, Professor Bill Morgan, said Professor Barrett was a doctor who was extremely highly regarded by both peers and patients. “The Queens’s Birthday Honour is wonderful recognition of the significant contribution that Graham has made to medical research and clinical practice over many decades. We are very proud of his association with the Lions Eye Institute,” Professor Morgan said.

Professor Barrett is the recipient of numerous awards, including the RANZCO Norman Gregg Medal last year, the Ridley Medal from the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons, Binkhorst Medal, awarded by the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons, and Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Susruta Award.

He is the founding and current President of the Australasian Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons, and past President of the Asia Pacific Association of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons.

Download the media release.

Need any help?

If you would like to know more about us, or want to make an appointment, please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Request an appointment